FAQ Cocoon Stachus

ARE THERE DISABLED/BARRIER-FREE ROOMS?

No, unfortunately the construction of our hotel at the Stachus does not allow barrier-free rooms at the moment. If you still don't want to miss out on your Cocoon experience, we would be happy to recommend our Cocoon Hauptbahnhof. We are happy to offer you a barrier-free room at this location, please contact us directly for more details.

DISTANCES TO THE EXHIBITION FAIR, AIRPORT, CITY CENTRE AND ALLIANZ ARENA, AND HOW DO I GET THERE?

How long does it take to get to the airport?

Munich Airport is located in the north of the city and can be reached in about 50 minutes by direct connection with the S-Bahn (S1 or S8) from Karlsplatz Stachus.

How long do we need to get to the fair?

The Munich Trade Fair Centre is 12 km away from Cocoon Stachus. A direct connection with the U2 subway takes 30 minutes.

How long do we need to get to the city center (Marienplatz)?

You can reach the Marienplatz either on foot in about 15 minutes or by direct S-Bahn connection in about 10 minutes.

How do we get to the Allianz Arena?

The Allianz Arena is located about 13 km away and can be reached with the U1/U2 or on foot to Sendlinger Tor and from there with a direct connection with the U6.

HOW DO I GET FROM THE MAIN RAILWAY STATION TO THE HOTEL?

Please take the exit towards Schillerstraße. From there it is about 5 minutes walk to the hotel.

Should you need some navigation help: To Google Map

IS THERE A RESTAURANT IN THE HOTEL?

No, there is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is no better place in Munich to satisfy your hunger than at the Stachus. Not only gourmets get their money's worth in the surrounding area, but also numerous fast-food snacks, street cafés and bistros are within easy reach. Just ask at the reception - we will be happy to give you some culinary tips or take a look at our culinary (secret) tips in advance.

WHAT SIZE ARE OUR BEDS?

Our beds are at least 140 x 200 cm, the largest beds in the Cocoon Stachus Munich even measure 180 x 200 cm.

For the exact measurements of the bed in your room, please have a look at our room description.

WHAT IS THE STACHUS?

The Munich Stachus is the square around Karlstor, it is located between the main station and Marienplatz and is one of the most beautiful and busiest places in Munich. Documentation of the square can be found as early as the 13th century as an important location on Salzstraße, which was of great importance for the city's development. For a long time the gate was known as Neuhauser Tor.

WHERE DOES THE NAME STACHUS COME FROM?

Elector Karl Theodor had the Neuhauser Tor restored at the end of the 18th century and subsequently also arranged for the name to be changed to Karlstor. The square belonging to it was also renamed, but the name Karlstor was not quite able to establish itself - presumably because of the unpopular elector who came from the Pfalz. Bavaria continued to use the name Stachus, derived from the inn of the same name on the square. Even today, people tend to know Karlsplatz by the name Stachus.

WHICH SIGHTS ARE NEARBY?

The most famous landmarks on the Stachus are the Karlsplatzrondell with its Stachus fountain and the Karlstor. The Sendlinger Tor and Marienplatz with its historic town hall are also less than ten minutes' walk away. Particularly popular in summer are the Wittelsbach Fountain on Maximilianplatz or the old Botanical Gardens - both are just five minutes' walk away.

For even more Munich inspiration, browse through our lovingly selected Cocoon Secrets & Tours.

CAN YOU SHOP AT STACHUS?

Yes, there are numerous shopping opportunities both directly at Karlsplatz and nearby. The "Stachus-Passagen" is a spacious shopping centre under the Stachus with direct S-Bahn and U-Bahn access. The longest shopping mile in Munich also begins at Stachus: Kaufinger Straße offers large chains as well as small boutiques for every need: from clothing and sports to jewellery and cosmetics, electronics and toys.

Cocoon Stachus München

HÄUFIGE FRAGEN ZU HOTEL UND KARLSPLATZ

 

Gibt es behindertengerechte/barrierefreie Zimmer?

Nein, leider lässt die Bauweise unseres Hotels am Stachus im Moment keine barrierefreien Zimmer zu. Solltest Du trotzdem nicht auf Dein Cocoon-Erlebnis verzichten wollen empfehlen wir Dir gerne unser Cocoon Hauptbahnhof. Hier können wir Dir ein barrierefreies Zimmer anbieten, bitte kontaktiere uns hierzu direkt. 

Entfernungen Messe, Flughafen, Innenstadt und wie komme ich dort hin?

Wie lange brauchen wir zum Flughafen?

Der Münchner Flughafen liegt im nördlich der Stadt und via Direktverbindung mit der S-Bahn (S1 oder S8) vom Karlsplatz Stachus in ca. 50 Minuten zu erreichen.

Wie lange brauchen wir zur Messe?

Die Messe München ist vom Cocoon Stachus 12 km entfernt. Mit der U2 führt eine Direktverbindung in 30 Minuten dorthin.

Wie lange brauchen wir zur Innenstadt (Marienplatz)?

Den Marienplatz kannst Du entweder zu Fuß in ca. 15 Minuten erreichen oder per S-Bahn-Direktverbindung in rund 10 Minuten.

Wie gelangen wir zur Allianz Arena?

Die Allianz Arena befindet sich ca. 13 km entfernt und ist mit der U1/U2 oder zu Fuß zum Sendlinger Tor und von dort per Direktverbindung mit der U6 zu erreichen.

Wie komme ich vom Hauptbahnhof zum Hotel?

Bitte den Ausgang Richtung Schillerstraße nehmen. Von dort sind es ca. 5 Gehminuten zum Hotel.

Solltest Du etwas Navigationshilfe benötigen: Zu Google Maps

Gibt es ein Restaurant im Haus?

Nein, im Hotel gibt es kein Restaurant, aber Deinen Hunger kannst Du in ganz München an keinem besseren Ort stillen als am Stachus. In der Umgebung kommen nicht nur Gourmets auf Ihre Kosten, auch zahlreiche Fast-Food-Imbisse, Straßencafés und Bistros sind in Kürze zu erreichen. Frage einfach an der Rezeption nach - wir geben Dir gerne ein paar kulinarische Tipps oder wirf vorab schon Mal einen Blick auf unsere Kulinarik-(Geheim-)Tipps.

Wie groß sind unsere Betten?

Unsere Betten sind mindestens 140 x 200 cm groß, die größten Betten im Cocoon Stachus München messen sogar 180 x 200cm.

Für die genauen Maße des Betts in Deinem Zimmer wirf einen Blick auf unsere Zimmerbeschreibung.

WAS IST DER STACHUS?

Der Münchner Stachus ist der Platz rund um das Karlstor, er liegt zwischen Hauptbahnhof und Marienplatz und zählt zu den schönsten und belebtesten Orten in München. Dokumentationen zum Platz finden sich bereits im 13. Jahrhundert als bedeutende Stelle der Salzstraße, die für das Aufblühen der Stadt von großer Bedeutung war. Lange war das Tor unter dem Namen Neuhauser Tor bekannt.

WOHER KOMMT DER NAME STACHUS?

Kurfürst Karl Theodor ließ das Neuhauser Tor Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts restaurieren und veranlasste daraufhin auch eine Namensänderung in Karlstor. Der dazugehörige Platz wurde ebenfalls umbenannt, der Name Karlsplatz konnte sich aber - vermutlich auf Grund des unbeliebten aus der Pfalz stammenden Kurfürsten - nicht so recht durchsetzen. Bayern verwendete nach wie vor den Namen Stachus, abgeleitet vom gleichnamigen Wirtshaus am Platz. Selbst heute kennen Menschen den Karlsplatz eher unter dem Namen Stachus.

WELCHE SEHENSWÜRDIGKEITEN BEFINDEN SICH IN DER NÄHE?

Das bekannteste Wahrzeichen am Stachus sind das Karlsplatzrondell mit seinem Stachusbrunnen und das Karlstor. Auch das Sendlinger Tor und der Marienplatz mit seinem historischen Rathaus sind zu Fuß in weniger als zehn Minuten zu erreichen. Im Sommer besonders beliebt ist der Wittelsbacher Brunnen am Maximilianplatz oder der alte Botanische Garten - beides liegt nur fünf Gehminuten entfernt.

Für noch mehr München-Inspiration stöbere doch durch unsere liebevoll ausgewählten Cocoon Secrets & Tours.

KANN MAN AM STACHUS EINKAUFEN?

Ja, es gibt sowohl direkt am Karlsplatz als auch in der Nähe zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für Shopping. Die "Stachus-Passagen" sind ein großzügiges Einkaufszentrum unter dem Stachus mit unmittelbarem S- und U-Bahn-Zugang. Am Stachus beginnt zudem die in München längste Einkaufsmeile: Die Kaufinger Straße bietet große Ketten sowie kleine Boutiquen für jeden Bedarf: Von Kleidung und Sport über Schmuck und Kosmetik bis hin zu Elektronik und Spielwaren.